The governing board oversees all decisions made about the running of the school. They support the head teacher in making the most appropriate choices regarding Teaching and Learning, Leadership and Management and School Finances.

Governing boards have a strong focus on four core strategic functions:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent
  • Ensuring Safeguarding policies are adhered to and reviewed regularly.


On 1st September 2018 St Thomas Centre Nursery School federated with 11 other Local Authority Maintained Nursery Schools. The Federation Governing Board can be seen here:

The 12 federation schools are split into 4 smaller clusters, each served by a 'Local Committee'. These groups are:

-Allens Croft NS, Shenley Fields NS & Jakeman NS

-Kings Norton NS, Selly Oak NS & Weoley Castle

-Lillian de Lissa NS, St Thomas Centre NS & Newtown NS

-Adderley NS, Gracelands NS & Highfield NS


Our local board includes: St. Thomas Nursery School, Lillian de Lissa Nursery School and Newtown Nursery School.

Chair of Governors - Margaret Sullivan - Co-opted Governor

Vice Chair - John Ritson - Co-opted Governor

Executive Head Teacher of all 3 cluster schools - Mandy Cryan

Safeguarding Responsibilities - Sally Andrews - Co-opted Governor

SEND Responsibilities - Lorna Rose - Co-opted Governor

Co-opted Governor - Yupu Lin


You can contact the governors at any time.
Post: A sealed letter can be handed to the Cluster or Federation Chair of Governors via the school office.

Birmingham Federation of Maintained Nursery Schools logo