Early Years Curriculum

We follow the Revised Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum that sets the standards for learning, development and care for children from birth up to 5.

The Early Years Foundation Stage follows a principled approach under four themes:

  • A Unique Child
  • Positive Relationships
  • Enabling Environments
  • Learning and Development

We get to know our children well, through observation, talk and play. We take account of every child’s individual needs and develop our curriculum to reflect the children’s needs and interests. We believe strongly in every child's right to an education. 

The Prime Areas are the most essential for your child's development and future learning.  It is through these that children access the world around them and build relationships with other people, which in turn opens the doors to learning in all other areas. Children will continue to follow the Revised Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum Framework when they have moved onto their Reception year in primary school.

Prime areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

Specific areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design
      • Children learn by playing and exploring and being active. Child centred learning supports, promotes and develops positive attitudes towards learning. 
      • All children are valued. We build upon children's previous experience at home and take into account children's interests and strengths as we play. Our aim is to develop the natural curiosity in children by encouraging them to ask questions and try to find answers. Observation and documentation are used as part of our practice.  
      • Details of your child's progress and achievements will be shared with you  and  their primary school. There will be opportunities to meet with your child's key worker during the year in addition to informal discussions.
Birmingham Federation of Maintained Nursery Schools logo